Posted in Uncategorized

Sometimes You Are the Head. Sometimes You Are the Tail; 30 Lessons learned from Living in an RV for 30 days.

In a small space

What do you actually need?

It was on the day of the beards birthday.

We just got back from driving a grueling, painstaking pelting drive to Portland and back to get his truck, trailer, and Harley. A good friend of ours from church drove it here from Iowa with her girls to she could visit her family since she was originally from this area. It was a true God thing. We needed it here, she wanted to see her family I couldn’t sit with him in the RV and drive it here. It all worked.

Anyway.

It just got here from Iowa. We drove and we aren’t quite used to it yet.

I guess you can say, we are into this RV living about a month. Including traveling time here.

I was resting my eyes from squinting from the angry Oregon rain. Happy Iowa rain is different. Much different. So, the Doritos bag (don’t judge) and a small glass of wine and I was settling in with my 3 dogs piled in the bed to watch a little tv when my birthday boy walked in and asked if I had been happy with our decision to live like this.

At that moment, I had a big comfy blanket my Velcro dog Jax under my chin waiting for a Dorito and my other 2 white ankle biters next to me.

Hmm. How do I answer that? At that moment; I am warm. I am dry. I have people love. I people to love me. I have things to eat. Shelter. Earlier I saw about handful street people that day walking in the horrible rain with probably all that they own in garbage bags looking for a dry place to live or stay. So, I have more than most.

Yet earlier I had a song that came on my iPod that triggered me and made me cry because it made me think of my daughter, a song that we use to sing to the top of our lungs in the car every time when we use to hear it. I text my kid and miss them and blink back tears. I call my mom and have to clear my voice so she doesn’t hear the shakiness’ in my voice when she says she is sad and misses me. But it’s a good thing to have those feelings you know? I think about some people, and for some…they have no one to have those feelings for.

But I have people that I love. I have people that love me. I have people to miss. I have people to text. I have people to call. I am super grateful for what I have.

I have an amazing boss and my team is great and everyone works well as a team. I was very nervous since I came from a fantastic team in Iowa. I didn’t think I could I could ever find a place I would like back-to-back. Although I’m not technically doing therapy, I am using my therapy skills.

Rob’s been hitting the pavement really hard lately to find a job, and it’s been difficult or him because he’s never had experienced a feeling like this. He’s always been employed. However, once again…it’s been good for him. Humbling. It builds faith.

That’s been our theme. Faith. Adventure. Living outside the box, and paving our own way on the “road beyond”.17d271aa2e26905641dd0915764e2078

  1. Taking care of 3 dogs in an RV is a lot of work. Pee. Poop. Pick up poop. Put in bag. Depose bag. Repeat. X4 times a day X3 dogs X= 30 days I don’t know. I’m terrible at math. Lesson learned; get your dog poop bags ready immediately when you walk into the park. Don’t wait. Those things tear easily and sometimes they are hard to get open. Sometimes all 3 dogs poop at the same time like they are making music and on tune. It’s funny and yet sad. You are struggling to open the bag, it rips, it tears, it fights with you. Get it open IMMEDIATELY. Trust me. You’ll thank me later. Bonus Lesson Learned: take the Poop Bag out of your pocket before you go to the laundry. Good news they wash and dry very well. Now I’m thinking I should line my boots with them. It rains so much I should make my non-rainproof shoes rainproof!  When I was younger my mother used to make me wear bread bags on my shoes. Maybe I should save my bread bags for poop bags. Hmm. That’s a thought. 
  2. Taking care of 3 dogs in an RV in rain is not fun. Period. Lesson learned; ain’t no smell like wet dog smell unless it’s 3 wet dog smell, oh ya. 
  3. It rains here a lot. Like I said, we have 3 dogs. If you can read, and I’m assuming you can…wet dog smell. Not the best. Last time I checked, most candle places don’t sell that smell. It’s not too pleasant. Not sure how to conquer that yet when it rains every day. So we’ve put those nice car vent fresheners in our vent things. It’s been helping. Lesson learned; get some nice air freshner to counteract the dog smell. No brainer.
  4. Hugs and kisses from the dogs though. Priceless. I don’t know if I have a lesson learned here. I guess if you don’t have a dog, these are immediately null and void. So, hey…how are ya? Hug and kisses from your cat? We would have a cat if we didn’t have a dog. We would have a chicken if we could. We are thinking about it. For real. Lessons learned; get a chicken. We USED to have one. It was great. Sad story…no longer have one. jaxxandtam
  5. Missing flat lands and getting places quickly. Miss that a little. My drive to work would be 10 minutes, but since it’s kind of through the mountains, it takes about 30. Around here we have to have hands free headset for our cell phones. So, I got rid of a bad habit of texting and driving. The only way I will talk on the phone now even around the house…haha I said the house and I live in an RV, see how easy that transition took me, like 30 days. Wow. Anyway, a hands-free headset has been awesome to talk on the phone. Lesson learned; get a hand free heads set. Life changer. It’s way safer, and when I’m walking around the I can get so much more done while talking and doing things. You’ll thank me later! The flash light doesn’t come with it. Sorry. That was used when I was looking for the HDMI cord on the back of our TV. Ya, that couldn’t be easy either. tammytechnology
  6. Speaking of the mountains. I guess some may call them foothills, but I call them mountains. Did I say the scenery here is amazing?  Everywhere is an eyegasm. I can’t believe how beautiful it is here. I mean it’s unbelievable how beautiful it is. I can’t even capture it in photos, no matter how hard I try. Lesson learned; beauty is everywhere all you have to do is look. The biggest beauty for me is trees, moss and rocks. The moss here is so green. It’s like the greenest green I’ve ever seen. I’m so excited to go to heaven because I know that heaven is going to be so much more beautiful than the best scene I’ve even imagined and ever seen. I can’t even wrap my mind around that! I can’t even catch my breath around here at some of the scenes I’ve seen. We are close to the coast, mountains, the Red Woods and so much more. I feel so little now that I’ve been exploring more. It’s easier to feel small next to these trees at the Red Wood Forest. One of my Bucket List Book items. Yes I have book dedicated to such things.  
  7. Missing our family has been hard. I don’t have a more simple way to put it. Lesson learned; I know I’ve taken moments and taken people for granted we all do. time zone
  8. Communication has been a little difficult, I think about calling them around 10 pm right before bed, then it’s like – crap – it’s midnight their time. Lessons learned; sometimes it is hard staying in touch with people when everyone is so far away. However, I don’t want to lose touch with everyone. We moved away, but we think of everyone so often. This is hard. We wish more people would text and call us since we have so many people to keep in contact. We are only a text or phone call away! 
  9. Meeting new people is always interesting. We miss our crew, we want friends, but it’s like putting a circle peg in a square hole. We live in an environment where everyone here is a little transient or has a gypsy soul so no one here ever really gets to know anyone. It’s hard to really trust people, or is it? It kind of depends, I’ve seen it both ways. I continue to use my gut instinct. It leads me astray sometimes, but I always try to do my best. I think most people are good people but my overall Lessons learned; we are social creatures and need each other. other people
  10. When we are outside and do the whole “where are you from” conversation, you realize how small of a world it really is. No matter where I go; when we say we are from Iowa we run into people from the Midwest and from the Iowa area. Our neighbors at the campground are from Winterset Iowa and the people across from us are related to people from Newton Iowa. We went to the shore at a farmers market and I talked to a lady about Essential Oils and she was originally from Altoona. It’s so strange. I work with someone whose wife is also from Altoona. Lesson learned; You are never too far from home.  SMALL_WORLD-1                                                                                                                   
  11. We were surprised how many people live in RV’s. When we moved here we thought we were strange and living on the edge by living in an RV, and most of you probably still think that.  In fact, almost everyone in every RV park around here is living in the RV park. It’s super common around here. People live out of their RV. Our neighbors have lived in their RV for over 10, some over 15 years. If I could ever get decent internet, I would get a video interview and get some of them to talk about their experience of living out of their RV. That’s a goal anyway. Lesson learned; Rob and I aren’t the only people who lost our marbles! People are living in their RV everywhere!!! We are in good company! 
  12. Everyone here is super nice; in a strange way. Part of me wonders if everyone is smoking pot and that’s why they are nice. That or if it’s the beauty of everything. It’s hard not to be in a good mood when everything around you is so beautiful. But it’s strange. It’s like…everyone is family here. In the grocery store, at the gas station, walking down the street…everyone seems so nice. Lots of people need to talk. Lots of conversations are being had around leashes while admiring and talking about dogs. It’s a good icebreaker. Lesson learned; nice people are everywhere and no, they aren’t all high.
  13. Laundry can be a task in a house. It’s a necessary evil. When you live in an RV full time, it’s doubly icky. Have to think about the whole process. I hate thinking ahead and I don’t do it well. Yeah, it’s a task. Having quarters. Getting the soap. Getting your stuff. It’s a task like I mentioned before. Well, now I have to think about it ahead of time, not just the day of. I used to laundry every day. NOT NOW. And when you live in an RV, you downsize…get what I am saying…so I have to think ahead. It kind of stinks for people like me who wings it often.  I don’t rather care for hauling my dirty laundry-laundry mat. They call it “don’t air your dirty laundry” for a reason. No one wants to see that, or smell Once I got there just as it was closing. Yeah me.  Did you know people have been doing this their whole life? So, I’m just now complaining about it. Those people are my heroes. This is hard work. Well, I wasn’t smart when I packed. I was saving space and didn’t pack extra blankets or sheets.  I am trying to be I didn’t plan on anything happening. But something happened. Jax was mad one night, but we didn’t realize how mad – until bedtime. He PEED on our bed. Not just on our bed but MY SIDE. I think I wouldn’t have been as mad if it was on the beard’s side, and let’s be honest, I think the beard – aka Rob probably would have been fine too. Ok, not really…but I wasn’t a happy camper. I was not a happy camper in my camper. We didn’t realize it until 10:30 pm, the laundry mat was closed, we didn’t have any extra blankets. My favorite part was that I had bought this really nice mattress memory pad too. The one with all the little nooks and crannies, so it kept the pee all nice and collected. So, yeah that happened.  So everything was thrown out. Rob and I shivered the whole night. It was terrible. Just terrible. Lesson learned. Always be prepared. We have a couple of sets of blankets now.
  14. We miss our church, church friends. They have become our family. We’ve been watching them online (plug for Christian Life Now, Des Moines. Christian Life Assembly…woot! ) Although our church has it online and can watch it live it’s not the same. So, we looked up churches online. We researched a lot when we had the internet. Now, Sunday has typically been us playing around, gallivanting, hiking and playing on the coast. But, we couldn’t go any longer without going to church. Rob had spent the whole morning doing paperwork and getting irritated. I decided to go take the dogs for a walk, but he wanted to go. Guess he needed to be next to his wife, hold my hand and sing happy love songs to fulfill his morning. OR? He just needed air. You decide. He was feeling rushed to make it to church at 10, it was already 9:15 we live 20 minutes away and we thought we would never make it on time. So Rob hurried to get ready. So we rushed to the dog park to take the dogs to poo. This is always a great time. While Rob was rushing around in the shower I hurried and looked to see the address one more time, to get it ready for the GPS. When I did, I saw the great news! “they have one at 10 and 12”, I bellowed to Rob as he was still in the shower. Which gave us time to eat lunch before church. How lovely!  We got ready and didn’t have to rush. Lesson learned; It’s the little things in life that are great…like extra time you didn’t know you had.
  15. (Continued) As we got ready for church the beard comes out with a grin – or grimace (read and you can decide later) “Did you break the shower and not tell me? I wanted to give him a smart a$$ remark because he looked a little silly in his towel with his squishy dripping bearded red face. I haven’t decided yet if it was from a sunburn, burnt flesh from the steam shower he was about to blow a gasket and the color in his face was a warning…I wasn’t about to find out – or was I? I had a nice shower a few hours prior and it was just fine, and I told him so. “The shower is busted and the knob came off while I was in it and was spraying water all over,” he paused I replied, “Isn’t that what a shower is supposed to do, spray water?”. He wasn’t happy with that answer “No, not like that”. I laughed. It was a little funny and accurate. He wasn’t having it. He walked away and we left for church right after and didn’t talk for the next 15-20 minutes.  Lesson learned; don’t poke the bear when the bear is already steamed…literally.wrong side of bed
  16. (Continued, yes…this day gets better) After we went to buy a new replacement for the shower, ate lunch we got to the new church and people are leaving as we are coming in. We come into the book store, introduce ourselves to the nice lady and sign up as a guest, strutted into the empty sanctuary as crickets were chirping and Rob asks me what time it was “noon”, the place is pretty empty. It’s spring break maybe people are on vacation. We proceed to look for a place to sit, um…it’s empty and we could sit anywhere. People are mingling a little, but hardly anyone is there. By “people” I mean 4. We meet a nice couple and they kindly tell us that we missed church by 2 hours. Then it hits us, only after they tell us “no, there isn’t another service”. That’s weird…I proceed to tell them their website told me it stated noon. I was very confident of this, although by the look on their faces I realized I’m an idiot. I got to the car later and told Rob as I pulled up the website on my new ihavenocluewhatimdoing iphone that I was on hours ago. I pulled up the website I was on and sure as the day is long..there is was… “10am – 12:00 pm” I didn’t have my glasses or contacts in. I didn’t see the little dash. Oops. My bad. Lesson learned; wear corrective vision when looking up new service times on website when going to a new church. Or how about wear corrective lenses when looking up things all the time. That’s a novel idea.  Bonus Lesson learned; take a little time navigating your iphone to learn how to use it.
  17. We probably should have bought a used a RV, not a brand new one. That was dumb on our part. That’s all we are going to say about that. We knew we shouldn’t have, because we never buy brand new cars for goodness sake. We bought extended coverage on everything. But here is the thing. No one wants to work on your RV. When you drive your house down the road, lots of things crack, break, leak and it needs fixed. We don’t have a lot of things wrong with it, but many people do. So, even though we have extended warranty the problem we are going to have is taking it somewhere and having anyone to fix it in a timely manner. Rob talked working on them himself and going RV-park-to-RV-park and doing it himself. I think he should. He would make a killing and we could always work “out-of-the-home”. People here always need something done on their RV. One of the first “friends” we met was by him needing his leaky sink fixed. It was going to take weeks for someone to come here and fix it. Rob knew how to fix it and he just went over and did it. How awesome is that? I have a great man that I’m married to that just knows how to fix things like that. That man would have not known how to fix it, would have traveled for 3 more weeks then what? The fact is, his RV is under warranty and still couldn’t get seen for that long. What a pain. So, I’m encouraging him to do that. He has the personality and knowledge and the trailer and tools to be able to do it. While he did it, I chatted with the wife, we talked about her travels and had a great time. It was wonderful.  What’s that Red Green quote “ If the women don’t find you handsome they should at least find you handy” , well my man is both handsome and handy. Lesson learned; Get yourself a handsome and handy man if you live in an RV! (read a map, look tough, blow bubbles, devilishly handsome in a beard – you know it’s all important).  Know where your faith is, cause according to the beard “it’s gets rocked”. The beard had initially had a rough time initially getting a job, and even though he had faith, it was hard for him. He had a harder time getting hired than he thought. Although it was super nice having dinner made, the dogs taken care of, did I say dinner made? He’s working now…but be careful when you say you have faith in things. Cause God will shake it. I love the word faith. My daughter’s middle name is faith and she just tattooed a cross with the word faith in the cross, yet we know so little about it. What I’ve learned is if you ask God to give you faith, expect to be tested. But growth is good. Being stretched is good. Living out of your comfort zone can be good yet uncomfortable.
  18. A good view calms the nerves. We changed our parking spot on the campground – about 3 parking spaces over. Rob and I have been complaining about the claustrophobic feeling we’ve been having in our little space. We asked if we can change spots and one opened up! We moved and it was amazing how different we felt after. Amazing how a few hundred feet can make a person feel totally different. I guess this can be true no matter it is. A change of perspective is also can be a change in view. Funny with Rob and I just in driving. He drives a semi and when he gets in the car he is like “you really can’t see anything from a car window”, he is so used to seeing things from a semi-window. The same was true when we drove the RV here; the windshield view with the bigger window and a higher wheelbase made the view seem better. Lesson learned; don’t like your view change it, change your perspective and your view will also change.IMG_6763
  19. A supportive person, even one person, makes all the difference. Some people don’t have one person to support them. We are fortunate to have each other. Lesson learned; “Quality of life is what you make it” is what the the beard says, and it’s not things, its memories. I was having a small little conversation with someone on my picnic table just a few days ago. We live in the poorest county in Oregon. Not sure why, but he’s lived here his whole life and he chooses to live in his RV. He stated that people in this town especially decides not to make their life better. They like to live below their means an have no desire to make their life financially better. They like living a decollate life because that means they get to live more simply. He was sipping a beer and looking over my shoulder as I was looking at my computer and actually working on this list. Ironic. He is a logger, living in his 5th wheel RV next to us. Most people living here work as a logger. Sounds like a rough life, but he states it is a simple life and he loves it. He went onto to say that most people don’t want to excel financially and if you give them the option to take a job with more money, they won’t take it. They like their “quality of life.” Which is exactly what Rob is always saying. It was like I was in the Twilight Zonetwilightzone.14283729_std
  20. Memories. Experiences. Adventures. Almost every weekend we go out and explore this beautiful place. I think I already said that I have an eyegasm everywhere I go. I want to take photos of everything, but that’s impossible. One thing I want to note is the number of rainbows we have here. I think I see one about every week. If I wasn’t driving on a twisty winding road I would be able to take more roadside photos. Poor me. I was out taking a photo on one of those roads and probably shouldn’t have been. Someone stopped to check on me. I told them I was just taking a photo. They smiled and went on. I thanked them. That is what it is about. It’s about each other being kind, extending out a hand when another person needs it, and talking to someone when they need it, listening when someone needs to talk, supporting and encouraging when another needs it. I can think of many times when I’ve seen people along side the road. I’ve not stopped, but this person did. I wonder why they did. Lesson learned; stop more often when people are along side of the road. Offer help more. Judge less
  21. A thing I noticed is that there are a lot of protein diets, paleo, vegetarian and everything in between here. I’m the girl hanging onto her sweet tea holding onto her bag of Doritos apologizing for her bad eating habits. “don’t mind me” as crumbs of orange remnants drizzle on my shirt. Occasionally you might catch me with Sour Bright Crawlers. I know, it’s the worst for me. Pure sugar. During training at work, they are all deciding on places to go out to eat and it was a common curiosity to ask if anyone as dietary needs, so typically we go to very healthy places and everyone orders super healthy items from the menu. I’m like, “cheeseburger, fries”, or “chicken wings”…I was super healthy the other day and got a veggie wrap…with Doritos. J Lesson learned; veggie wrap was alright, I mean...veggies are ok and I didn’t die or anything.  Maybe I should eat less Doritos. What am I thinking? That’s crazy talk!
  22. Dog people are the best people. I think everyone knows that. That isn’t going to be my lesson learned. However, everyone stops us when they see our Jax, who is a Hungarian Vizsla.  I mean almost everyone. So, if we ever wanted to go somewhere and be in a hurry or disappear or go and not be noticed we would not be able to take this dog with us. Everyone asks us about him. It’s a strange phenomenon. However, he will leave us in heartbeat. He would hug you, jump in your lap, your car, get in your house and act like we are nothing to him. Well, that’s almost true. He’s a strange dog, and everyone is curious about him. If you are ever interested in a somewhat loyal dog to you and everyone else. He’s orange/red with orange/brown eyes with the softest shortest hair. He’s supposed to be a hunting dog but to us he only captured our heart and everyone else around us. He is the best traveler. He rides on motorcycles, boats, semis and everything in between. He loves frolicking in water and his newest adventure was his trip to the coast. His best skill is cuddling and hugging.  He has been known to scale privacy fence before he was fixed but now he stays right by us. However, he will get mad and tear up your best pillows and pees on your bed if he doesn’t get his running in time at the dog park. He is a jealous dog. Likes the other dogs locked up so he gets more attention. Lesson learned; take your dog to the dog park often or this will happen. No, he won’t take up kayaking, although that would be super cool…but he will tear up your stuff. 11659414_10152867168160563_6142342608339376179_nlove in the kitchenjaxbeingbad
  23. We eat a lot on the grill. Like a lot. This is planned because this means the cooking is done outside and I don’t have to cook in my small kitchen. Rob’s kitchen is the big outdoors and my kitchen in the small indoors. You can see the difference. Lesson learned; meat tastes better when cooked outside…this is universally known. I learned this trick when I lived in Iowa so I didn’t have to use my kitchen as much. robcooking24 Back in the “olden days”, people knew their neighbors. People used to get out of their homes and go outside. People use to wave at each other and knew what was going on with their neighbors. When I was in Des Moines, I think I talked to my neighbors a few times, and that was due to our dogs or chickens getting loose. It was never to get to know them. Here people are always walking around our “RV campground/neighborhood” and chatting with each other and getting to know each other. Our neighbor to the left of us walks laps; a mile in the morning and a mile at night. She knows everyone and now calls the beard “buttercup” because she heard me say “Suck it up, Buttercup” to Rob once. Another neighbor was getting ready to go in for a carpel tunnel surgery and didn’t have a ride to Eugene and Rob wasn’t working yet. So, Rob offered to take them to the doctor. That wouldn’t happen if people weren’t out getting to know each other. Another time we were taking Jax to a dog park and a couple came to talk to us. They just lost their Vizsla 3 years ago and they couldn’t believe they found someone else who had one. They are so rare. They came out and asked us where we got ours (again, small world) we gave them our brother-in-law’s name who has them and breeds them. He ended up calling him and is going to get a Vizsla puppy as soon as its ready. Rob got his new job by just talking to people next door. I normally throw my pop cans away, but a lady next to us usually recycles them and I gave them to her to get the money from. Another neighbor made such connection to Rob he texts us when we were day tripping and wasn’t home in a timely manner. They were worried something happened to us since we didn’t know the area. They are the sweetest people. Now that Rob is over the road trucking, they ask how Rob is if he got to his destination ok. It’s like we stepped back 30 years and everyone is a community and watches over each other. It’s so strange. Lesson learned; several things…if you don’t want people knowing your business stay inside or don’t go camping or live in an RV park. If you want to believe in humanity and society again…live in RV park or go camping. It’s a positive experience.84d72cca35938e62d708384d5692d20a
  24.  If you want to get connected, have the internet, upload photos, get YouTube, stream videos, watch Netflix you are out of luck. I am a little irritated, no a lot irritated. I have so many photos I would love to upload. I have you tube videos that we’ve made that I would love to upload. I would LOVE to watch my Netflix…but I cannot. Our cell phone coverage is just as bad. I have maybe 2 strong bars maybe 3 if I’m lucky when I get home from work. We changed cell phone plans since we were told that was going to be better. I bought an internet extender which is plugged into the RV, but that only increases the existing internet strength I already have. So, if I only have crappy internet – it only increases the same strength I have. Which I don’t understand. However, we are sitting at the bottom of a valley with mountains all around us so I can understand why we don’t have the best internet. Most people coming to camp aren’t looking for best internet. However when you live here, kinda want the internet. I’m also trying to get my teamed started at night, so THIS isn’t happening until I can get the internet strength better. Sigh. If anyone who is reading this has a solution, I am looking for solutions. Our TV/Cable is also an issue. So, ya.

     

    Lesson learned; “Patience is a virtue and my patience is as weak as the wifi.” Original quote from yours truely. I might be famous one day

    25. Wear the right shoes. It rains a lot here. It’s important to wear the right shoes for rain. It’s important to wear the right shoes for the shore. It’s important to wear the right shoes to keep your feet warm. It’s important to wear the right shoes to work. I’ve struggled in ALL these areas and I am a shoe person. Doesn’t help that Jax ate a lot of my shoes before I came here. I went out and bought some rubber boots for the shore. I have rubber boots to slip on for the rain and I have slip-on’s for taking the dogs for a walk. I need hiking boots yet. That will come, I wore nice little cute shoes the first time I hiked. Not smart. I had blisters and my feet slipped on the mossy rocks. Lesson learned; get the right shoes for the job. Duh, no brainer. 26. The toilet in an RV is similar to a toilet in a Kaybo. The first time we had the “what’s that smell” I could hardly stand it. I mean, Rob tried to have ongoing conversations with me, and I’m one of the best multi-taskers in the world. But I could not focus on anything he was talking about because my nose was not having it. It smelled, and it was not wet dog smell this time. It was “what died in here, grew mold on it, baked in the sun with liver and onions with the contents of raw sewage”. This isn’t saying much because it was coming from our bathroom. The bathroom toilets in an RV have a black water tank and a gray water tank. They were both barely full, but something was rank.  I could not figure it out and I couldn’t focus. I begged Rob to go figure it out. I felt like I was going to vomit. He said we were basically living in a rolling toilet. So, we found some drop toilet lemon things to put in the things. Immediately it was all better. I’m not sure what that was all about, but you better get some if you have an RV, and have them HANDY! Lesson learned; we are living in a rolling poo thing. Get the dropping lemon things for your poo tank. You’ll thank me later. 🙂 They are little septic pods.  Life changer when you live in this RV. 

  25. 27 Walls are thinner than you think. Our neighbor came over one day and basically gave Rob a play by play of a scenario of what happened in our RV. Whether it’s your tv, radio, phone conversation, how much your dogs bark when you are gone or something else…Lesson learned; tight quarters and thin walls make for interesting conversations. This little guy barks a lot when I’m gone. He’s protective of our place I guess he has a lot to tell people when they walk by. IMG_287428. Speaking of tight quarters. You would think tiny spaces would make us get a little squirrely like our little friends here

They say absence make the heart grow fonder. That I think is true, but they don’t say that when you live in tight spaces. So you would think that tight spaces would be the opposite effect. Actually, this hasn’t been true for the most part. Which is weird. IT’S WEIRD. How can that be? How can I miss someone when I’ve been trapped in a tight space with them for days on end? But it’s true. When the beard and I traveled from Iowa to Oregon we were all up in each other’s business. Like. All. Up. In. Each. Others. Business. You can’t take a phone call without hearing the entire conversation on the other end from the other person (so watch what your saying about me when you’re talking about the beard on the phone), you can’t really have privacy in the bathroom, you can’t cook, watch TV, read a book or anything without the other person being totally right there. However, we are lucky that we have a large RV. Then we are still all up in there. But we still get along for the most part, and I’m kind of surprised we haven’t lost it yet. Not that we don’t argue and get on each other’s nerves – cause we totally do. Like we really do. But we celebrate daily our adventures. Our losses. Our frustrations. Our reasons finding our mission. We pray together, we laugh together, we cry together and we miss our kids together. I hold him up on days when he really misses his kids and does the same for me on days when I’m down. When we have a really bad day we play our wedding song and dance. We look at the photos of our family, pray, hope and cross our fingers that we aren’t totally messing up our lives by leaving our Iowa life behind. But overall our Lesson learned is living and learning. We hope that we are paving the way for others by going out of our comfort zone and doing things which we never thought was possible and inspiring others to do the same. Find your dream; get out of your comfort zone on the road beyond.

 

So, to answer the original question. Some days are really good here, and I’m glad we made the decision to do it. Some days are quite a challenge and I question what we are doing and want to throw in the towel. Somedays you are the head – and some days you are the tail. If you look at the feature photo of my dog Ziggy and Piper, you’ll see the irony in the quote and the photos.

 

Find your dream on your road or on your own beyond!

Author:

Photographer, mother of 6, therapist, traveler and blogger.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Are the Head. Sometimes You Are the Tail; 30 Lessons learned from Living in an RV for 30 days.

  1. We just read this last entry outloud. That is to say I read it outloud to Darrin. We love your perspective, your humor, and your style. Keep on keepin’ on, Sister! We love you guys, think if you often and hope your adventure is worth the trouble. I have no doubt you will take something valuable away from the adventure, even if it is only pictures and memories! Love you!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Im not the best with grammer and writing. The internet doesn’t help. It’s constantly buffering when I’m in the middle of checking things and sometimes dupicates things and – it’s just a mess at times. Oh the woes of being in the sticks. You know all about that! Although, you are in two gorgeous places all the time. Im pretty jealous of your life right now!!! Someday I’ll be traveling more like you. 🙂 You’re my hippie hero.

      Like

Leave a Reply

